- Departments I through Z
- Treasurer's Office
- Vehicle Registration and Titles
- Titles From Out of State
Titles From Out of State
Motor vehicles, motorboats, ATVs and minibikes coming into Nebraska from another state are required to obtain a Nebraska Certificate of Title unless they fall into the category of Motor Vehicles Exempt from Titling. To obtain a Nebraska title and registration, the following documentation must be presented to our office:
- Application for Certificate of Title (PDF)
- Vehicle's previous out-of-state Title. Note: if the state is NOT a title-issuing state, you will need the vehicle's last registration and if ownership is transferring, a notarized Bill of Sale
- A copy of your Security Agreement if current state's title indicates an open lien
- Sheriff's Inspection: Located in the Sarpy County 1102 Building at 1102 E. 1st Street. Hours of Operation are 8 am to 4:30, Monday through Friday. The fee is $10 cash or check.
- Proof of Insurance
- Previous Registration
In order to register your out-of-state titled vehicle, we need to have your previous state's title. If there is a lien on the vehicle, the lender usually holds the title, so we will need to have the title sent to our office from the lien holder. Therefore, we will need to request the title from your lender and have it sent directly to us. To initiate the out-of-state title request, click Here and complete the form. The lienholder will then send your title to our office. Note: This process can take several weeks. Once we receive your title, we will contact you to let you know we have it.
If you have an out-of-state leased vehicle, we will need the title from your leasing company. Therefore, we will need to request the title from your lessor and have it sent directly to us. To initiate the title request, click Here and complete the form. Once we receive your title, we will contact you to let you know we have it.
According to State of Nebraska Statutes Section 60-366, you must register your vehicle in this county after 30 days of residence in this state.