Our office is open to the public. Customers are helped on a first-come, first-served basis.
About Our Office
The Vehicle Inspection Office is located in the Sarpy County 1102 Building. Parking spots are designated for Vehicle Inspection at the rear of the building. You should arrive at the inspection office half an hour prior to closing to ensure you have time to complete your transactions.
Out of State Vehicles
Since August of 1983, legislation has mandated that all vehicles brought into Nebraska with a title from another state, be inspected by the sheriff of any county in the state. This was done to ensure that title laundering, stolen vehicles, vehicles with stolen parts, or vehicles with odometers that had been tampered with could not obtain a Nebraska title. The law has been very effective in addressing these issues.
The inspection, which takes about 15 minutes, consists of an inspection of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) plate, manufacturer's federal sticker, odometer reading, and the title itself with supporting documentation (Nebraska sales tax form, power of attorney, bill of sale, estate papers, affidavits of repossession, etc.). Salvage vehicles must be completely repaired. The inspections for the general public are completed at the Vehicle Inspection office.
Items to Bring
For an inspection you must bring the vehicle, the title, and the $10 fee (cash or check from a local bank) to the Vehicle Inspection office. Persons having a lien or lease on their vehicle must contact their clerk/treasurer. They must obtain the title from the lienholder or financial institution. The clerk/treasurer will then make a notarized copy for inspection purposes.
Checking the VIN
The inspectors are specifically trained to detect inconsistencies between the VIN as it is stamped on the vehicle and what has been put on the title. If an inspector finds what appears to be an altered VIN, the inspector will then conduct a more extensive investigation, checking other areas on the vehicle for the VIN. Vehicle manufacturers stamp the VIN on various "hidden" parts of a vehicle to assist in tracking thefts.
The Vehicle Inspection Office also inspects vehicles on-site at the various auto retailers. Auto retailers may arrange for these on-site inspections by contacting the Vehicle Inspection Office for an appointment. Auto retailers requesting an on-site inspection must have at least three vehicles to be inspected during the appointment and are assessed an additional $4 per inspected vehicle.