About Us

Sheriff Office Staff & Resources

The Sarpy County Sheriff's Office, headed by Sheriff Jeff Davis, is located in Papillion, Nebraska. The organization of the office is comprised of the Sheriff, the Chief Deputy, who is next in the chain of command, followed by Division Captains, Lieutenants, Sergeants, and Deputies. Civilian staff are assigned to the various areas of the office's divisions and units. The civilian staff includes vehicle inspectors, court security entry officers, juvenile center staff, support staff, tow lot operators, evidence and property technicians, and technical support. The Sarpy County Sheriff's Office staff are assigned in an organizational structure that includes the Road Patrol, Investigative, Support Services, and Administrative Divisions.

The Sarpy County Sheriff's Office is a full-service sheriff's office and the largest in Nebraska, employing 118 sworn deputies and 100 non-sworn personnel. There are many divisions that allow for a variety of diverse duties including road patrol, court services, civil process, investigations, DARE/GREAT, student resource officers, narcotics, transportation, work release/house arrest, and training. The road patrol is the largest division and deputies working in these areas have the opportunity to become well-rounded in the law enforcement community. The Sarpy County Sheriff's Office also has several specialty units such as the Sarpy County SWAT Team, Search and Rescue Unit, Serious Crash Investigation Team, K-9, Bike Patrol, Critical Incident Negotiators, Field Force Team, and the Mobile Command Post. These units allow for personnel to expand their duties and contribute to the Sheriff's Office and community in a larger way.

Our Motto

"Honored to Serve"

Our Mission Statement

The mission of the Sarpy County Sheriff's Office is to provide for community peace and safety through the ethical enforcement of the law.

Our Core Values

Integrity | Courage | Loyalty | Respect | Professionalism | Service

Our County & Our Office

Sarpy County is located approximately mid-way on the eastern Nebraska border and is surrounded by the Platte River to the west and south, and the Missouri River to the east. Sarpy County is just minutes south of Nebraska's largest city, Omaha, and includes the cities of Bellevue, Papillion, La Vista, Gretna, Springfield, as well as Offutt Air Force Base. While Sarpy County is the smallest county in the State of Nebraska with only 241 square miles, it has the third-largest population with the latest census listed county's population estimate in 2013 at 169,331.