Obtain a Handgun Permit
Handgun Purchase Permit Applications can be picked up from the entrance of the Sarpy County Sheriff's Office 24/7. Directions for completing and returning the notarized application are within the application packet.
Mail the completed application and all supporting documents to:
Sarpy County Sheriff's Office
Attn: Firearm Purchase Permit
8335 Platteview Road
Papillion NE 68046
or Drop off in the drop box in the foyer entrance of the Sheriff's Office 24/7
Ensure that ALL necessary items are included -
- 3 years total of address history is REQUIRED on the application (use the back of the application if necessary)
- $5.00 cash or a check made payable to Sarpy County Sheriff
Application needs to be signed, dated and NOTARIZED
COPIES OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS ARE REQUIRED:
- Copy of Nebraska Driver's License or ID with CURRENT Sarpy address
- MILITARY and MILITARY DEPENDENTS:
- Copy of Nebraska Driver's License with CURRENT Sarpy address OR a copy of Out of State Driver's License
- Copy of Military ID
- Copy of PCS Orders (of active military member with dependents listed)
- BORN OUTSIDE of U.S.
- Copy of Nebraska Driver's License with CURRENT Sarpy address
- Copy of valid ICE issued alien number OR a copy of Citizenship paperwork OR a copy of U.S. Passport
**FAILURE TO FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS WILL RESULT IN APPLICATIONS BEING MAILED BACK TO YOU**
AGE AND RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS:
To obtain a handgun certificate from our office, you must be at least 21 years old and a current resident of Sarpy County.
- Failure to answer all questions on the application
- Having a conviction in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year
- A fugitive from justice
- An unlawful user of, or addicted to, any controlled substance
- Adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution
- An alien unlawfully in the United States or an alien admitted to the United States under a non-immigrant visa
- Discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions
- Having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced his or her citizenship
- Subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing, stalking or threatening an intimate partner or child of such intimate partner
- Convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence
- Under indictment or information (i.e., charges have been filed in court) for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year
RE-APPLICATION AFTER EXPIRATION
Certificates are valid statewide for three years, at which time applicants must re-apply for a certificate. All documentation above is required at the time of application, regardless of whether a certificate has been issued to applicant in the past.
WHAT TO DO WHEN YOU RECEIVE YOUR CERTIFICATE
Upon receipt of your certificate, please inspect the document and ensure that the personal information is correct. In the event of any typographical error or omission, please bring the certificate to the Sarpy County Sheriff's Office within thirty days for any corrections that may be necessary. Notification of any corrections beyond thirty days after issuance shall require a new application.
CONCEAL CARRY PERMITS
To obtain a Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit, you will need to do so through the Nebraska State Patrol. For more information, access the Nebraska State Patrol website.